Fetch

I have been in an epic fetch game with my cat for about…. seven months. He has this multicolored yarn ball (we’re on like ball five) that he loves to play with. 

It started when he was a little kitten, and every night we’d go sit in my comfy chair in the sitting room and read (me) and purr (Ari). One day, we had a ball, so I threw it to the other side of the room. He leapt off my lap, and chased it. He thought about it for a minute and brought it back to me. I threw it again, he launched to the other side of the room, and brought it back to me. This was in January. We’ve been playing this game ever since.

Whenever I go up the stairs, he brings me the ball, and I throw it, then walk up a few stairs, he will often drop it in my outstretched hand. If he doesn’t bring it right away, I wait, and he eventually remembers to bring it to me. When we get to the top of the stairs, I throw the ball down the stairs, and he scampers down (occasionally his brakes fail and he whacks into the wall because he’s a member of this family, and we’re all klutzes).

Leave a Reply

